I got a canned email from MyBlogLog telling me that I only have a few days left on my service and that I have to renew if I want to keep my historical data and tracking going forward. This got me to thinking...
I have never really liked MyblogLog all that much. The tracking data it provides is so-so and easily replaced by so many FREE tracking solutions that I also use.
The one thing that got me interested in paying for their service is the fact that they track AdSense clicks. I used this data in the past to try to audit Google's reporting. After seeing a large discrepancy I dropped AdSense for a few months. I added them back in and everything seems to be working fine again.
Right now they are saying I need to pay up or lose access to my historical data and this I have a problem with. The way I see it I have already paid for this historical data when i paid for my one year of tracking service last year. Just because I choose not to re-up with them should not mean that I lose access to data that I have already paid for. I can understand them cutting me back to the limited account format that my other blogs use (do you think I would pay $20 per blog for their service?) but why should I lose access to historical data?
I'm not even sure what the original intent of the MyBloglog service was. Was it meant to drive traffic? Generate new readers? What was it supposed to do?
I no longer know and I no longer care. Once I get a free minute I will be removing their tracking code from my various sites and be done with them.